The ever-evolving and never predictable musical venture that is Freaks is now in its 15th year of incarnation having first materialized in 1994 as the brainchild of London-based Luke Solomon and Bournmouths Justin Harris. They began recording for Phono (home of Herbert), and in 1999 they set up their own record label Music for Freaks. Taking musical inspiration from such diverse artists and producers as XTC, Green Velvet, Martin Hannett, John Martyn, Heaven 17, Brian Eno and Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Freaks produced three albums, sharing writing duties with Joey Negro. Records such as Turning Orange, The Creeps and Where Were You When the Lights Went Out emerged as seminal tracks in the Freaks catalogue with a sound that spanned everything from disco, house to rock n roll.. Luke and Justin decided to take Freaks on the road with a live band format that included the vocal talents of Stella Attar. Playing such luminary venues as Fabric and Cargo in London as well as Arthur Bakers night at Club 11 in Amsterdam not to mention festivals such as Homelands and Global Gathering, Freaks rocked dancefloors everywhere with their particular brand of exhilarating anthemic dance music mayhem. In summer of 2007, their huge selling underground record, The Creeps re-appeared in a new form reaching number nine in the UK charts. The Freaks are back in 2010 with Right Now, a collaboration with the legendary Robert Owens, surely one of dance music's legends. With more than twenty years as a gifted singer, songwriter, producer and DJ under his belt, Robert has not so much embellished house music as played a large part in defining it. Songs like 'Tears', 'I'll Be Your Friend', Mine to Give (with Photek) and 'Ordinary People' are just some of the tunes that have borne his black velvet voice and gone on to become truly classics. Right Now is a bit of a lost record that has never officially been released as a single but managed to make its way onto JT Donaldsons DJ mix album and Mark Farinas House of Om compilation on Om Records. Now the record is being given the recognition it deserves by being released as a single on Rebirth Records with a couple of hot new mixes. The Sao Paulo duo Glocal, one of the most innovative electronic music acts in Brasil, follow their After Midnight single with a magic and emotional remix adding their live beats, percussions and bass...pure class ! Glocals fellow Rotciv re-edits the Original evoking a new disco-funk vibe, which is a trademark of his label Mister Mistery Records. 2010 is shaping up to be another exciting and prolific year for Freaks and Robert Owens whose consistently innovative musical output seemingly knows no bounds.

1. Original mix
2. Glocal's acappella
3. Glocal's Night Of Feverish Lovers Farewell mix
4. Dubstramental *
5. Live Revision Dub *
6. Glocal's Night Of Feverish Lovers Farewell Instrumental *
7. Glocal's Night Of Feverish Lovers Farewell Reprise *
8. Rotciv Re-Edit *

* digital only

Related releases